Bodily Injury Liability Insurance in Nevada: A Guide
The coverage of bodily injury liability insurance includes physical injuries to someone else when you are at fault in a car accident. In Nevada, the law requires all car owners to carry this type of insurance with policy limits of $25,000 at least for the death or injuries of one person, $50,000 for killing or injuring two or more people, and $20,000 for property damage.
This type of insurance doesn’t cover the insured’s own injuries, no matter who is at fault for the accident. It also doesn’t cover any damage to vehicles or collision coverage.
You can also learn about a similar type of insurance that may help you in case you are injured while staying at an Airbnb here.
What Is Bodily Injury Liability Insurance?
This insurance is a part of any standard car insurance policy. It covers injuries to other people including drivers, passengers, and even pedestrians in case the accident was the insured’s fault.
The limits of this policy are represented by two numbers: the first one represents the limit for damages to anyone injured in the accident. The second one represents the maximum amount that will be given to everyone injured in the accident.
So, for example, if you have a 25/50 limit, your insurance company will pay out a maximum amount of $25,000 to one person and a maximum amount of $50,000 in total to everyone injured in the car accident.
Sometimes you can see a third number representing property damage. This coverage applies to damages you as the person at fault, caused to someone else’s car or property.
Who Is Protected By It?
Car insurance coverage for bodily liability in Nevada protects every at-fault driver from any claims brought by:
- Other drivers
- Passengers in other cars
- Passengers in your own car
What Kind Of Expenses Does It Cover?
This type of insurance applies to every damage that arises from physical injury to people, not just to get your medical bills paid. These damages include the following:
- Doctor bills
- Physical therapy
- MRIs, x-rays, and other tests
- Wheelchairs or crutches
- Nursing care
- Lost income
- Loss of earning capacity
- Pain and suffering
- Non-economic damages for example a loss of a limb or scarring
- Funeral expenses
Will Bodily Injury Liability Insurance Cover My Medical Bills After The Accident?
This insurance won’t cover your own medical bills. For this, you will have to buy optional uninsured motorist coverage or Med-Pay. However, when you have this insurance you are protected for amounts the injured party would sue you for.
Another advantage of this insurance is that your insurer will defend that claim for you if it decided you were not at fault.
However, you need to keep in mind that the insurer will always protect its own best interests, even if that means raising your rates. Usually, it is to your advantage to consult with your personal injury attorney as soon as you get in an accident and someone is injured.
How Much Insurance Should I Have In Nevada?
In Nevada, the insurance companies require drivers to have a minimum of 25/50 bodily injury liability insurance. However, in many cases, these limits are not enough to cover other drivers’ injuries and damages. For example, if someone goes to the hospital in an ambulance from the scene of the crash the medical bills for the ambulance and hospital usually exceed $15,000 for just basic care.
If these damages and injuries exceed your limits, you can be personally responsible to pay for the outstanding amount.
What Happens If I Don’t Have Enough Insurance?
If you don’t have enough insurance coverage to pay for the other drivers’ damages, they can pursue you for the excess. Therefore, it may be a good idea to buy higher policy limits if you can. Especially, when you have assets you need to protect.
What Happens If More Than One Person Is Injured?
If more than one person gets injured and you don’t have enough car insurance coverage, the bodily liability coverage will then be divided proportionately based on the other injured party’s claims.
What Happens If I’m Just Partially At Fault?
The law in the state of Nevada allows car accident victims who are partially at fault to recover damages if the fault was no more than 50%.
If You Were Injured In a Car Accident In Nevada, Call Us Today
If you or a loved one was involved in a car accident in Nevada, we invite you to call our Henderson and Las Vegas personal injury law firm for a free initial consultation. Click here to learn more about the five frequently asked questions about bodily injury.
Our experienced car accident attorneys know how to find the responsible parties and get you the compensation you deserve. To schedule an appointment call J. Cogburn Law at (702) 747-6000. When seeking compensation for a car accident, every second counts. Don’t wait. Call us today to find out how our personal injury attorneys can help.
I wanted to wait until my case ended before writing this review. I can’t speak highly enough of the people at J. Cogburn Law. I unfortunately was in an accident involving another car last September while on vacation. I didn’t really know what to do but I found their listing online. Jamie and Alex talked me through the entire process and looked after all of my medical worries while they fought the insurance company. Never for one moment was I worried that they wouldn’t be successful with my case. I had access to them whenever I had questions and I never felt like I was being a nuisance. It took a few months but I finally got a settlement that has allowed me to move on with my life. Thanks guys, I’m thrilled that you were the ones that looked after me!